A BABY SHOWER for my BOOK

Any excuse will do to have a party! Our latest excuse was the official launch of my book VERY BERRY EXTRA-ORDINARY, We opened our house to our new friends and acquaintances to celebrate the ‘birth’ of my new baby.

2013-02-05 14.48.37

As you may all know, there is a big difference between talking about a project you really want to do and actually doing it! One of the best feelings ever – to me that is – is to present your finished project to the world. Nearly 16 years ago we celebrated our first baby shower for our first ‘bundle of boy’.

images[1]

This time around my ‘bundle of joy’ was presented in the shape of an easy to carry, non crying, beautiful looking rectangular book! One of the less pleasant side effects from 16 years ago were my lactating boobs; this time around, my front stayed try!

Here we go again, like the previous three times with our children, I am facing the huge responsibility to make sure this baby can stand on his own two legs one day! I want to make sure the book can bring joy, happiness and inspiration into other people’s life.

Let’s face it, if your health permits, everybody can have a baby. Conceiving a child is not the problem; to çreate’ responsible, loving, caring, independent individuals out of these babies is the challenge!

images[2]

My fourth baby was my coffee lounge in The Netherlands. The same concept I just wrote about applies to running a business: Lots of people can and will open up their own enterprise. This is not the challenge – the challenge is to create an ongoing, profit making, much loved and much talked about business out of your original idea!

logo1

Just like my children, my book is out there – in the wide, open, scary, whacky and exciting world. My kids are exposed to the real life adventures here in B.C. whereas my book is floating around in the big wide cyber world of online book retailers.This is  exciting and scary at the same time! Why? From now onwards I am exposed!  I put myself, willingly, at the mercy of every ready who is willing to give this book a shot! From this moment onwards I am an open target to every comment ranging from ‘loved it’ to ‘forget about it.’

Writing this book wasn’t the hardest part – today is the day the real work and challenge begins! I need to get out into the world to connect, communicate and inspire every living soul who is willing to lend me an ear.

This reminds me of the saying “If it’s easy, everybody would do it.” Oh so right, everybody can write a book- but how many of us have the stamina, determination and character wit to see this thing through till the end? Until (in my case) it hits the no. 1 spot in one of my categories on Amazon.com?

Oh well, ce la vie! Here we go again. I am ready to take the plunge. I also know I need to do this on my own- but, is there a chance you can help me?

Do you have any advice, tips, strategies, stories or wisdom to share when it comes to book promotion? Please, let me hear from you! Share your pearls of wisdom with me! I really appreciate your help! Thank you! Thank you!

imagesCADMIM71

4 thoughts on “A BABY SHOWER for my BOOK

  1. Once again, congratulations on your sweet sweet ‘bundle of joy’ book… Am proud of you and can’t wait to finish reading your xoxo
    I will do my part and talk to all I know about your (new family edition)
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

