SUNDAY’s BEST, ALWAYS ABOVE THE REST

I have to hand it to my mother: This lady knows how to dress for any given occasion! I don’t know of anybody else who owns so many Sunday’s Best outfits. My mom has an obsessive obsession to label the week days and match her outfits accordingly. E.g. Monday is ‘meet the girls’ and swimming – day, Wednesday is market day, Saturday is ‘let’s clean the house and party – day’, Sunday is always Sunday’s Best day!

Mom went as far as putting me into that white, lacy number on our visit to a horse farm, because – you guessed right,- it was Sunday.

For good measure she keeps an extra special ‘something’ in her wardrobe. It is well protected, wrapped up in plastic. My guess is as good as yours: At their age, “Four weddings “are over. They are slowly approaching the “Funerals”part. One never knows when the next, unexpected invite arrives..

Not only does mom matches outfits with days, she also orchestrates wardrobe choices according to the seasons. God forbid my dad or brother show up without their allocated, goofy Christmas tie for Christmas dinner!

I also recall early memories of Easter egg hunts, dressed in my bunny PJ’s.

Our mother didn’t stop at clothes. Next to our Sunday outfits we had our Sunday – best-dinner-plates, or the plates for Easter, Mothers Day or Christmas. We had plates for our own family and for our visitors. Depending on their status or relationship to us (friend, close friend or very close friend) our mother pulled out “Villeroy and Boch”or “Woolworths own”. (She still does!).

For the first 20 years of my life I shared a roof with my parents. This is a long enough time for certain idiosyncrasies to rub off – if I want to or not!

Our own kitchen contains a ‘to-look-at-only-unit. It is filled with beautiful, under used, 100 year old dinner plates, inherited by my grandma. Do we use them? Of course, once a year, come Christmas.

2013-02-05 10.31.28

What about my beautiful tea set? Has there ever been a special occassion worth sharing it with the rest of the world? Of course, once or twice!

2013-02-05 10.30.10

Do I have a Sunday’s Best? You bet I do. In my case this translates to stored away, under used, forgotten dresses.

2013-02-05 10.55.56

On February 17th I will host my official book launch party in the company of our invited guests. This is reason enough to pull out all the stops. Unfortunately, I inspected my stash this morning – my former Sunday Bests are either too sexy (no,no, I am an author now), too tight, have the wrong style, wrong colour, are eaten by moths or still display shoulder pads. Oops, isn’t Joan Collins the only one still allowed to wear them?

Coincidently, my chosen date falls on “MY WAY DAY” which gives me the official permission to launch my book my way- regardless of Sunday’s Best or not.

2013-02-04 13.59.37

It’s off to the shops again. I will splurge out on another Sunday’s Best.  But this time around it will be a timeless piece. After the launch I will follow the example of my mom: It will be wrapped in plastic and stored away! What can I say, I am her daughter, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree!

Leave a Reply

